Forum

Broker news forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Notify me of new replies via email
Mortgage Broker News | 09 Jun 2010, 03:44 PM Agree 0
The federal privacy commissioner’s report on unsecure mortgage broker practices for protecting client information has further exposed the industry to potential fraud crimes. “If I was a professional criminal, a mortgage broker would be my main target,” said Greg Viger, accredited mortgage professional with Dominion Lending Centres Financial Ltd. in Burnaby, B.C.
  • Steve Garganis | 10 Jun 2010, 07:13 AM Agree 0
    “If I was a professional criminal, a mortgage broker would be my main target,”
  • Steve Garganis | 10 Jun 2010, 08:34 AM Agree 0
    “If I was a professional criminal, a mortgage broker would be my main target,” Greg Viger.... Greg, this kind of comment is 'Bad Press' and will hurt confidences and our business....I think you're comment is way out of line....The report identified some issues and made recommendations...and since the review, Ontario Brokers are now working with an updated set of regulations administered by FSCO... and also tighter Equifax member standards....These changes are welcome by me and all reputable Mortgage Brokers... Let's go back in time...remember 2008...wasn't there a Big Bank that had a company laptop stolen with client mortgage information? And this year, didn't BMO bring massive fraud charges against it's own employees and many others? Doesn't that question the Banking industry's reputation? Maybe we should say 'If I was a professional criminal, a Bank would be my main target'? Silly, isn't it...? I have a question for CMP..is Greg Viger a full time Mortgage Agent or a Full time Real Estate Agent? I see his office address is home to both.
  • Greg | 10 Jun 2010, 09:13 AM Agree 0