Forum

Broker news forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Notify me of new replies via email
Mortgage Broker News | 11 May 2010, 12:00 AM Agree 0
The RCMP are sifting through thousands of pages of documents to decide whether to pursue criminal charges in what is being touted as Canada's largest mortgage fraud case ever.
  • Sharon Thompson | 13 May 2010, 03:01 AM Agree 0
    As a player in the Mortgage Brokering Industy I have been originating mortgages for Canadians since 1999. Since then our regulatory changes have been tremendous, bringing honor and prestige to our profession. We are now governed by laws of disclosure, laws of protection and these laws demand that we work in the best interest of our clients, lenders and industry. Those mortgage brokers involved in this fraud scheme have taken a giant step backwards ... way back to the days when a mortgage broker was stereotyped as a "shyster" ... an unscrupulous yet last resort for the poor consumer with no other choice or understanding. All I can say to these modern day shysters in ... "We've come a long way! Our honest work, our integrity, our earned trust from our clients and lenders and contribution to our Canadian economy will not be jeopardized by the likes of you!" What possesses people like you to think you can commit fraud, whether it be against an individual or an entity as large as a Canadian Bank and NOT think that one day you will get caught?! May our governing body now show us and the world how it will deal with mortgage brokers and agents who put money before ethics. And then there are the lawyers ....
  • Me | 13 May 2010, 03:12 AM Agree 0
    sure - wink wink nudge nudge
  • FJ | 13 May 2010, 03:24 AM Agree 0
    This story is spooking the market. Think consumer confidence, investor confidence, etc.