Forum

Broker news forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Advice for the newbies

Notify me of new replies via email
DoWhatItTakes | 26 Jul 2017, 12:41 PM Agree 0
Hello everyone. I'm New here. And new to the industry. I just have some questions I wanted to get answered from someone outside my brokerage. I'm just not sure if this is normal for the industry and my expectations are too high, or if this is genuinely not the typical situation.

I started in this industry because I was offered it by a broker who seemed to really want to help me. He made it sound very easy. Hard work, yes. But bust-your-ass-while-starving, no.

I have been working now for 6 months. Part time mind you, because I have kids to feed and I couldn't live off nothing to start. That bring said I have worked very very hard. I have worked my top 100 list, I have called realtors, canvassed my neighbourhood, cold calls, ads, you name it. Still I have only generated one lead that will find at the end of August. My brokerage does fairly well. And the owner and the new partner make very good money. But the rest of us never get any leads from the phone calls and emails we recieve. When I inquired about this, I was given some leads over the next few days. Needless to say, every single one, was either someone with no to nearly no income wanting to buy a big house. Or they were tire kickers. I have been trying to reach some of these people for months. Meanwhile I can see many mortgages with reasonable income being processed and funded by the broker and now newest partner (who was an associate like me but got a lot of leads handed to her).

Is it possible the rest of us are just being given the scraps? Or is this normal?

Thoughts.
  • TP | 04 Aug 2017, 09:59 AM Agree 0